The following symptoms may indicate that you need to make the changes to your Apache 2.4 configuration that are described in this article.
Note that other causes can also produce these symptoms, so if you didn’t recently upgrade from Apache 2.2 to 2.4, you should pursue additional troubleshooting avenues.
Before you upgrade, you should make a backup of your main Apache 2.2 configuration file so you don’t lose any settings.
However, keep in mind that if you try to use it as-is with Apache 2.4, incompatibilities can prevent Apache from starting or running.
Make a backup of your data before upgrading your Apache software.
Upgrading can sometimes cause you to lose data, particularly if you had settings in an Apache configuration file that no longer apply in Apache 2.4.
If your Apache configuration file is replaced during the upgrade, the location of your default virtual host will change from .
When you upgrade to one of the distributions in this chart, you will also be upgrading to Apache 2.4 by default.
If you want to disable the default site, you must do so again.
Symptom: When you use the Apache line to each of your virtual host configuration files, as detailed above. Solution: Check for incompatible settings and modules in your Apache configuration files.
You can also do it right after you upgrade to Apache 2.4 to make your sites work again. Now follow the instructions in the next section to make your sites available.
If you are utilizing access control rules within your virtual host files, you will need to follow these instructions to update your permissions for Apache 2.4. If you have completed these steps correctly, they should now be working again.